2/07/2020 – Webinar “Basic Considerations on How to Set up a Club System”

2/07/2020 – Webinar “Basic Considerations on How to Set up a Club System”

 

July 2, 2020 – Webinar “Basic considerations on how to set up a club system”

Date & Sessions

Average session duration: 75 min

9 AM BST (London)
10 AM CEST (Hamburg) – Speaker’s time zone
11 AM IDT (Tel Aviv)
4 PM CST (Beijing)
6 PM AEST (Sydney)
8 PM NZST (Wellington)

Check the FULL LIST OF TIME ZONES for this session

9 AM (San Francisco, CA)
12 PM (noon) (New York)
5 PM BST (London)
6 PM CEST (Hamburg) – Speaker’s time zone
7 PM (Tel Aviv)

Check the FULL LIST OF TIME ZONES for this session

What will I learn?

Establishing a Uniform Marketing System (UMS) for a variety is a highly complex undertaking. The name “club variety” has given this type of marketing structure a dubious reputation. Consequently, it is often overlooked what advantages the combination of
different IP rights brings not only for breeders, but also for producers and consumers of the variety. After considering briefly the social and legal context, we analyse the practical and legal requirements for the implementation of an UMS. The webinar uses a fictitious fruit variety to discuss the basic considerations for setting up an UMS. We elaborate on the various conceivable contract structures and discuss the opportunities and risks related to a UMS. But above all, we look at the points that need to be clarified before the undertaking begins.

Meet the speaker

Thomas Leidereiter, LL.M.

Thomas Leidereiter, LL.M.

Attorney & Owner at Green Rights

Thomas Leidereiter is an attorney and the owner of Green Rights in Hamburg, Germany. With nearly two decades’ experience as a specialized IP lawyer, including 14 years at a major German law firm and five years at his own, he has extensive expertise covering Plant Variety Protection, trademarks, designs, copyright and competition law. Thomas advises clients on all aspects of IP protection for plant innovations, including the licensing and enforcement of IP rights. He has been involved in a number of major court cases dealing with fundamental PVR issues in the ornamental and fruit sector. Thomas is a member of INTA, the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR), CIOPORA and CIOPORA Germany. He is a regular speaker on IP topics with several associations and institutions.

 

 

Registration

REDUCED WEBINAR RATES: At the CIOPORA Academy, we are committed to providing accessible education offerings to the green sector. In view of the operational and financial constraints businesses and individuals around the globe may presently face, we have lowered our webinar rates from EUR 149.00 to EUR 99.00 (Member) and EUR 299.00 to EUR 199.00 (Guest). A further 15% reduction is offered in the Webinar Package, containing three webinars in June/July 2020. 

SINGLE WEBINAR REGISTRATION: includes the CIOPORA Academy Webinar “Basic Considerations on How to Set up a Club System” only.

Opt for the single webinar registration at the following CIOPORA Member/Guest rates:

  • CIOPORA Member: EUR 99.00
  • Guest: EUR 199.00

Click on the “Webinar ticket” button below to register quickly and securely online.

By registering you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions

WEBINAR PACKAGE REGISTRATION: includes three CIOPORA Academy Webinars at a reduced rate. What is included?

  • June 18 – Webinar “Patents for Plant Innovations and Biological Deposit under the Budapest Treaty” – learn more
  • June 25 – Webinar “PBR in Argentina” – learn more
  • July 2 – Webinar “Basic Considerations on how to Set up a Club System”
  • CIOPORA Member Webinar Package: 249.00 EUR
  • Guest Webinar Package: 499.00 EUR

Click on the “Webinar package” button below to register quickly and securely online.

By registering you are agreeing to our Terms & Conditions

Webinar user manual

For your convenience, we have compiled a Webinar User Manual to help you prepare for the webinar participation.

Download the Webinar User Manual

Please download and read this document carefully prior to participation in the webinar.

Our webinar platform Livestorm does not require any prior installation. Instead, it allows you to join webinars via browser. For the best webinar experience, we recommend using one of the following browsers:

 

About the WEbinar program

In November 2019, the CIOPORA Academy education program on IP for plants was expanded with the distance learning offerings in form of Webinars. Each webinar is conducted in two sessions to cover all time zones, enabling participation from all locations worldwide.

All CIOPORA Academy Webinars are broadcasted live in Livestorm, an online webinar platform, which allows participation for registered persons via internet browser with no prior installation. Please see our User Manual for more information on the technical requirements.

Contact us

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to:
 
Katrin Huhnholz, the CIOPORA Academy Program Manager
Testimonials
“The CIOPORA workshop held in August 2019 in St. Charles/Chicago was a great opportunity to meet with companies active in asexually propagated plants and discuss common challenges in the protection of our crops. The topics were timely and relevant. The session on UPOV, Breeder’s Exemption, and U.S. Plant Patent Law was particularly interesting, as it provided real-life examples of the cross-border legal scenarios. Thanks to the CIOPORA team for always putting together a thoughtful and well-run program"
Amy Martin, Driscoll's
Amy Martin
Director Legal Affairs at Driscoll’s, Inc.
"CIOPORA Academy workshop was a great opportunity to learn varying perspectives on plant IP. All topics presented had value as they pertain to my daily work; however, I was particularly interested in the topics on Utility Patents and Plant Variety Protection (PVP) for asexually reproduced plants. Both speakers provided in-depth analysis of the different scope of protections under these two systems. The comfortable atmosphere of the workshops at the Hotel Baker was a wonderful location to network with like-minded colleagues."
Jim R. Holm
Licensing Associate at Florida Foundation Seed Producers, Inc.